top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDevika Dhopatkar

The day I earned my first ever payment

Updated: May 29, 2022



Since childhood, I never really had the pocket money system. I am the only child of my parents, so no fights for things. I know, some of you will say how spoilt brats we are. But that's so not true. I remember how my parents and some of my relatives gave me money on my birthday or during festivals (they still do, because- Indian traditions!). I have also won cash prizes in various competitions, but all of that is not something that I can call a "payment".


So the first-ever payment I got was when I did some transcription work recently. The amount wasn't much, but I was still very happy. After all, it was my first payment.

It's not that my parents don't provide me enough, I just want to be as independent as possible. I know for a fact that my parents, unlike American parents, won't ask me to move out, they'll even be ready to take care of all of my financial requirements for the rest of my life. I know that small amount is nothing compared with what my parents do for me, I cannot build an empire with that, but at least it has given me the confidence that I can do something.

Recent Posts

See All

Southampton sundries

I saw Southampton from an author's perspective today. I saw people of different colours. Speaking various languages. Someone carrying...

Comentários


bottom of page