top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDevika Dhopatkar

5 books worth reading- Part 4

Updated: Oct 29, 2022


It's almost the end of September already and I am shocked how fast 2022 is going. Looking on the bright side, I am really close to completing this year's "new year resolution" of reading 12 books (I had many other unrealistic resolutions too but let's not discuss those here). As mentioned in my previous post that I couldn't read one book a month initially, I did make up for it by reading more books whenever I had time during the other months.

So here's the 4th part for y'all!


How to Live Your Life by Ruskin Bond


Ruskin Bond- I had heard about him. I had seen his books at bookstores. I even saw his name in the filters on various websites. But I don't know why I'd never read any of his books earlier.

This time I bought this book because of the title. I thought- we often say "no one can tell you how to live your life" but this person has tried to do that! And he is an old person so he must be quite experienced to share life advice, so let's just see what he has to say.

Reading this book feels like you're having a cup of hot chocolate. Though I'd want to drink coffee, I wouldn't say coffee because it is usually bitter and this book is not. The book contains the most comforting words you'll ever read. "Gyaan" but in a "chill" kinda way.

And I'm a sucker for hardcover books so this one was sure to catch my eye. (Maybe it was also because the cover is red and red colour travels the fastest).

The pages of this book feel like a project scrapbook that a school kid has put his/her/their heart and soul into to get maximum marks. I thought that was cute!

Well, to sum it all up, this book felt like a grandfather telling a bed time story full of life lessons.


The Hero by Lee Child


A few weeks ago, I just wanted a small book to read to kill time. And when I picked it up, I thought this might be a mystery novel. Honestly, I don't know how to describe this book. It felt like a painter's palette that has various colours on it. A shade of "ohh now I understand why it's like that", a hue of "oh my god that's unbelievable", and even a tint of "wow I never thought about it like that!"

I read this book in just 2 hours. I think you should read it too! You won't regret it.

BUT! I am warning people who don't like documentaries- this may seem boring to you.

If you're someone who enjoyed the movie "Night at the museum" or if you're someone who likes to watch BBC, Discovery, National Geographic etc then you might enjoy this one.

I don't want to sound like I am stereotyping people but I think this one is a very good read for the "nerds" and "geeks" (self proclaimed or tagged).


Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom


Sometimes the advice on the internet isn't so bad. I saw a page recommending this book, I don't remember the name of that page but I had put the name of this book on my "to read" list (which is obviously quite a long one as every avid reader can relate). The page said you can apparently finish reading this in a day. I didn't. I was taking my time with this book, reading it during breaks at college. Coincidentally, our "life skills" professor had mentioned something which I thought was from this book (may or may not have been, I just thought so). That day I thought "wow, I am reading quality content" and I was proud of myself. Long story short, I highly recommend this book.


Galatea by Madeline Miller


This one is not for kids. It isn't erotica (just for the record- I don't read erotica). It has a strong message. But I feel a kid either won't understand this or ask too many questions which would be difficult for an adult to answer. An adult is more likely to understand the real meaning of some of the disturbing words/sentences and interpret this book in a mature way.

Be a Triangle by Lilly Singh


This book is the best amalgamation of philosophy and humour. It is written in Lilly Singh's signature style of "dope" real life and fictional references. I've been watching her videos on youtube for years and when I was reading the book, I could imagine Lilly Singh saying the words written in the book in her "cool" voice.

Initially I thought this book would be just Lilly Singh talking about herself- her struggles, how she dealt with challenges in her life, etc; but as I kept reading I realised she has used her example (and some other common/relatable examples) to talk about some important issues that young people face.


Disclaimer: Images used for representation purpose only. No copyright infringement intended.

Recent Posts

See All

Southampton sundries

I saw Southampton from an author's perspective today. I saw people of different colours. Speaking various languages. Someone carrying...

Comments


bottom of page