top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDevika Dhopatkar

Southampton sundries

I saw Southampton from an author's perspective today.

I saw people of different colours. Speaking various languages. Someone carrying heavy bags full of groceries, someone carrying their guitar on their back but their music on their lips. Someone running to catch the bus while someone just mindlessly strolling looking for nothing. I would've just put on some music but I did not want to because the normal noise suddenly felt musical to my ears. I suddenly got the urge (and the courage too) to pet the dogs that usually scare me to the core! 

I was as lonely as the old guy sitting next to me on a bench near the Bargate. He had his vape as a companion but I had nothing or no one. Yet I felt at peace. With myself and with all the noise around me. It felt great. I felt alive. The crying kid who would've otherwise annoyed me did not seem to bother me at all. The breeze and the sunshine were doing their magic I think. The therapeutic powers of nature are unimaginable, right? I think I am finally falling in love with this city and accepted that I may have finally found my home several thousand kilometres away from my real home. Or maybe I have just understood how this place functions and learnt to tolerate it (dislike it a little less)? I felt like saying "Dear Southampton, I have hated you enough. I think it's time to embrace you now." Finally, this place feels like a poem written by William Wordsworth- with its simplicity as evident as its elegance. With an optimistic, "glass half full" perspective, I can say that though half of the academic year has already passed the other half is still left- to enjoy, to create memories and to have the best student experience ever- learning not just Business Strategy but also some life lessons along the way...

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page