top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDevika Dhopatkar

5 books worth reading- Part 1

Updated: Jun 1, 2022


NOTE:

This post does not include any paid promotions. All the suggestions are based on my own opinion.

Also, there are no spoilers here :)


1) Ikigai

I saw this book on many people's Instagram stories last year. When I'd not even finished reading it, I'd recommended this book to my grandmother when she was looking for gifting ideas for her friends and students. She gifted the translated version of the book to many of her students and friends and they all loved it. To understand Ikigai, you need to read it yourself.


2) Who Moved My Cheese

I always wondered how does my father even read such weird-looking books! I judged it by its cover (to be honest) and didn't feel like reading it. I randomly picked it up and said to myself that it's a tiny book- it won't take long to read this one. When I started reading, I sat still for an entire hour and ended up liking the book. Once you read the book, I'm sure a few people will come to your mind whom you'll classify as either of the 4 mice- Sniff, Scurry, Hem or Haw or a combination of those.


3) Life's Amazing Secrets

Let's be honest, we all have some or the other bad moments/days in our life every now and then. This book is especially for those moments/days. I think when you read it, you'll be able to relate the content with your personal story. I started reading this in the form of an e-book last year and I have also posted the 5 best quotes from this book in one of my previous blogs.


4) It happened in India

This book written by Kishore Biyani was originally published in 2009. It was lying somewhere at the back of the cupboard as a part of my father's collection. I picked it up a few months ago and just read the introduction to kill time. I couldn't stop reading it and I was done reading it within a few days.


5) Harry Potter series

Please don't call this suggestion "childish" or "immature". We all need a dose of nostalgia sometimes. I would love to re-read all the seven books again and again and I'd maybe even shed a tear remembering Alan Rickman and Helen McCrory every time Snape and Narcissa's name is mentioned in the books.


I hope you liked the suggestions. I'm thinking about writing a second part to include 5 more books worth reading. Would you be interested? Let me know!


Disclaimer: Images used are for representation purpose only. No copyright infringement intended.

All images sourced from: https://www.amazon.in/ and freepik.com



Recent Posts

See All

Southampton sundries

I saw Southampton from an author's perspective today. I saw people of different colours. Speaking various languages. Someone carrying...

2 Comments


rohan.dhopatkar
Jun 01, 2021

Kudos for brevity! Also, we have here a a nice variety of subjects. Cheers, Rohan

Like
Devika Dhopatkar
Devika Dhopatkar
Jun 02, 2021
Replying to

Thank you!

Like
bottom of page